Best And Worst Cover Art

I believe cover art is important. Not as important as the story, plot and characters. But it’s your first impression of the book, and it should portray the book in a good light. So, here are some of my personal favorite cover art, and some which I think are pretty bad.

Best

Shadowland By Meg Cabot

Normally I don’t really like people on the front cover, but this one is very abstract. I like the people and the representation of Suze. Even though she doesn’t have eyes I can totally see her taunting smirk.

themediator
From Amazon.com

 Outrun The Moon by Stacey Lee

I think the best thing about this cover is the Chinese decorations. I adored this book for its taste of Chinese culture, and the cover expresses it. Also, the shattering glass and the smoke in the background looks stunning.

outrun-the-moon
From Amazon.com
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus, as a book, was very whimsical and mysterious. And The cover captures it perfectly. The animated look of the night circus and the silver silhouettes look quite magical and it looks beautiful on the black background. The stars and swirls are a nice touch, too.

the-night-circus
From Amazon.com
Kalahari by Jessica Khoury

This cover is just stunning. The picturesque desert, to the colorful sunset to the silver lion. It’s beautiful, and shows the essence of the book really. The lion was the first infected……thing the main characters had seen. And the book took a whole different route after that. And the book is literally called Kalahari, its only fitting it would be on the cover.

kalahari
From Amazon.com
The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin

Blue and green, jellyfish and the main character. What more could you want on a book cover? It’s sad, but I like the cover more than the book. I felt the book was disappointing and not a very good story about loss. The cover is pretty though, and I like the main character holding the jellyfish like it’s a kite.

the-thing-about-jellyfish
From Amazon.com

Worst

The Nine Lives Of Chloe King: The Fallen by Celia Thomson

This cover only succeeds to confuse me, not draw me in. Generic girl with nothing really displaying her cat powers. The one thing? Her eyes look like cat’s. And I missed that at first. And a random city. What’s with the city?

the-fallen
From Amazon.com
City Of Masks by Mary Hoffman

I just feel like it’s very mismatched, it has a painted city of Venice, which looks nice. But the eyes…….They look really weird. And when you put it all together it doesn’t match. It just looks, strange. Which is a shame as it is a very good book.

city-of-masks
From Amazon.com
Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

This cover is gross. The blood [Is that blood?] looks like syrup dyed red. It’s way too thick and gross. Also, the crown. Is it just me or is it upside down? Why is it upside down? It doesn’t make any sense.

red-queen
From Amazon.com
Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom

The colors are too bright, it’s too simple and the braille just looks ugly. That’s the cover. No mention of the blind main character except for the braille that really doesn’t match. And it was such a good book!

not-if-i-see-you-first
From Amazon.com
What’s Left Of Me by Kat Zhang

No, no, no. I do not like people on book covers! It’s just stupid. And this one is just weird. Half her face is gone, but not right through the middle. It’s all squiggly. I’m assuming it’s Eva but, it could be Hallie or Lissa for all I know! And what’s with the gray and pink? It makes the girl on cover look even more depressed.

 

whats-left-of-me
From Amazon.com
So, that’s it for my favorite and least favorite cover art. Do you agree with me? And if not why? What is your favorite cover design? Please comment, I’d love to hear you’re opinion!  

Leave a Reply

