The Siren

Author: Kiera Cass

Genre: Fantasy/Romance/Young Adult

Series: None

Pages: 327

Blog is by: Paige Newberry

Summary

80 years ago our main character Kahlen heard the sirens song and nearly drowned trying to get to it. Luckily for her the sea (yes, the sea has a personality) saves her in exchange for 100 years of singing. 80 years in and she’s having nightmares every night, makes scrapbooks of people she’s killed and her contact with humans is close to none. Then she meets Akinli, and they fall in love. Falling in love with a human breaks every one of the oceans rules and if she finds out, Kahlen will be forced to leave Akinli forever. But, after 80 years of doing whatever the sea says, this time she’s determined to follow her heart.

Pros

 

  • Characters: I actually liked Kahlen and Akinli, you really get to know them both. Plus I can really relate to Kahlen because I too am a siren. Just kidding. But seriously, we both dabble in art, we both hate clubs and dance parties and we both feel at home at the library. I mean for me the library is like a second bedroom for me. I could also relate to Akinli because we both are not that great chefs or bakers. Once I made made brownies………..you don’t even want to know what happened.
  • Plot: I did like the plot, even though it was executed poorly. The idea of a siren falling love with a human, I thought, was a very original idea. And how girls become sirens instead of just spawning or being born that way was a nice spin.

 

Cons

 

  • More time thinking than seeing: What I mean that is that the two characters spent more time dreaming about each other than actually meeting each other. Most of the book is Kahlen trying to convince herself that she’s not in love with him and her sitting in bed daydreaming.
  • The ending: I really didn’t like this ending, at all. I mean, the illness was just an excuse to shove the main characters together. And Akinli never learns that Kahlen is a siren, I mean what the heck?! It would have been so much more powerful if Kahlen had told Akinli that she was a siren and he still loved her, even though she was a siren. And the memory wipe? Ugh, it was just the author desperately trying to get you to feel some real emotion reading this book.
  • The “Romance”: This kind of goes with my other one about how the characters didn’t spend enough time with each other. I mean come on! Spending less than a week with each other does not mean you are head over heels in love with someone. But Kahlen literally says it in the book, page 326 “I don’t know if there was a bigger word than soul mates.” I don’t know about you but I think soul mates is a bit of a stretch. Seriously, they spend less than two days together. It is sooooo unrealistic to have two people decide they are soul mates in less than a week. Yes, it is a fantasy/fiction book but, I demand realism from a book about mythical beings with really good voices, dang it!

 

Overall I give this book three emoji stars out of six (yes, I raised it to six, deal with it): ⭐️⭐️⭐️

