Heartless

Author: Marissa Meyer

Genre: Fantasy/Romance/Juvenile fiction

Series: None

Blog is by: Paige Newberry

 

Summary

Catherine Pinkerton is probably the most desired girl in all of Wonderland, even the King is vying for her affections. But Cath has zero interest in the King and marriage in general, all she wants to do is open a bakery. There, she and her friend Mary Ann will bake the best treats in the kingdom. But her parents are dead set against it, all they want her to do is marry the King and become Queen. Then Cath meets Jest, the court joker and falls in love, but, her parents would never approve, so they enter a secret courtship. With the help of Jest, Cath plans to finally open her dream bakery and possibly get married. But, between a mad hatter, a jabberwocky, several sweets, a planned kidnapping and some terrible love letters, fate has other things in mind.

Pros

 

  • Characters: I really like the rich characters in the book, and how they’re all intertwined. Like, how Mary Ann ends up as the white rabbits servant in Alice in Wonderland. And Cath is a gem, I love seeing the world through her eyes. She is the example when we can’t let go of our grief, how sometimes people can’t live anymore. I say that because at the end of the book, we get a very different Cath. A cold, ruthless killer who is driven by grief and revenge. I also like Jest, he’s very witty and charming, and his devotion to Cath is astonishing.
  • Plot: I’m a sucker for retold fairy tales and I adored Marissa Meyer’s other series, the lunar chronicles. I highly recommend it, but, because of the lunar chronicles, I was expecting a lot from this book and I think the plot definitely achieved my expectation. I love the idea that the queen of hearts was a nice person before Alice came along. It really shows grief can really change people, for example it can drive people to trade their own heart for their lovers killer. But, that only happens in Wonderland, so you’re okay.
  • The Romance: I typically don’t really like romances but this one was done well. Cath and Jest are opposites in almost every way but the attraction is definitely there. And the danger they’re in most of the time really helps them bond.

 

Cons

 

  • Not Very Unique Characters: I know this is a book which is really supposed to work with mostly already existing characters. But it’s wonderland, and Alice only explores a little bit. So, there should really have been some more original characters. I would have loved to see what Marissa Meyers imagination came up with.

 

I really enjoyed this book and I highly recommend her other books and overall I give this book five emoji stars out  of six: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 

